2008 Technical Meeting Program

SES Abstract Book

The complete 2008 SES Abstract Book is now available for download.

2008 SES Medalists

The Society of Engineering Science will present the following awards at the 45th Annual Technical Meeting:

Eringen Medal: Prof. Subra Suresh, MIT
Special Plenary Lecture: 10:00am, Monday, October 13th

Prager Medal: Prof. Richard James, University of Minnesota
Special Plenary Lecture: 10:00am, Tuesday, October 14th

SES Medal (awarded posthumously): Prof. A. J. M. Spencer, University of Nottingham
Special Plenary Lecture given by Prof. A. P. S. Selvadurai: 10:00am, Wednesday, October 15th

Special Keynote Lecture

Dr. Yapa Rajapakse of the Office of Naval Research will present a lecture entitled "Composites Research for Marine Applications," on Tuesday, October 14th at 1:00pm.

Student Program

The 2008 SES meeting will continue the annual tradition of the student presentation competition. Of more than 160 student entries, the following 16 students have been selected as finalists. These students will receive support from the meeting organizers to attend the conference, and will compete for three presentation awards during a special award symposium on Monday morning, October 13th:

  • Michael Aldridge, University of Michigan
  • Anna Ask, Lund University, Sweden
  • Benjamin Blaiszik, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Jerome Crest, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Lei Fang, Penn State University
  • Ghadir Haikal, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Lesley Hamming, Northwestern University
  • Nathaniel Huebsch, Harvard University
  • Amir Isfahani, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Brian Kozola, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • R. M. Manjeri, University of Central Florida
  • YongKeun Park, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Frances Pounder, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • David Quinn, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Jagannathan Rajagopalan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
  • Kartik Srinivasan, Purdue University

Reception and Banquet

The Conference Opening Reception will be held at the I-Hotel and Conference Center on Sunday, October 12th at 6:00pm. The Banquet, including the annual SES awards ceremony, will be held on Tuesday, October 14th at 6:00pm in the I-Hotel and Conference Center.


Rooms M1 M2 M3 M4 T1 T2 T3 T4 W1 W2 W3 W4
Chancellor Ballroom H H H H H H I I I I I I
Excellence Room AA AA EE EE GG GG GG FF Z Z Z
Humanities Room II II II II DD DD DD DD DD
Illinois Ballroom B C C C C C C            
Illinois Ballroom C Y Y Y Y Y W            
Innovation Room O O O O N N N P P P
Knowledge Room F F F J J J M M M M M
Lincoln Room K K K K L L L L L L L
Loyalty Room T V V U U U A A A B B B
Quad Room KK KK KK KK BB E E E E E E
Technology Room D D D D D D Y W W W W

Technical Symposia

The list below shows the symposia planned for the technical meeting. Click on a symposium name below for more information.

Applied Mathematics and Computational Science

Awards Symposia

Bioengineering Materials, Mechanics, and Structures

Dynamical Systems

Fluids and Transport


Multiscale, Micro-, and Nanomechanics of Solids

Science and Mechanics of Advanced Materials